Close
Sign up to receive B3 news alerts Sign up now

Previous Projects

Theme A - Risk Assessment (Intentional Introductions)

Pre-emptive biocontrol risk assessment for high-risk biosecurity threats in New Zealand

Lead By Gonzalo Avila (gonzalo.avila@plantandfoodresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project A21.1 ran from June 2021 - June 2022 (1 year) A: Risk Assessment: Intentional Introductions

Improving risk prediction & reducing uncertainty pre-release for classical biocontrol agents

Lead By Gonzalo Avila (gonzalo.avila@plantandfoodresearch.co.nz) and Toni Withers (toni.withers@scionresearch.com). Duration: Project A17.2 ran from 2017-2022 (5 yrs) Theme A: Risk assessment – Intentional Introductions

Understanding the direct and indirect environmental impacts of biocontrol agent introductions to inform future decisions

Lead By Barbara Barratt (barbara.barratt@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project A17.3 ran from 2017-2022 (5 yrs) Theme A: Risk assessment – Intentional Introductions

Theme B - Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Global change and NZ biosecurity: risks and economics of future climates and trade patterns

Lead By Nicolas Meurisse (nicolas.meurisse@scionresearch.com). Duration: July 2020 - June 2022 Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Sentinel plants to forecast & future proof NZ plant systems against pests & diseases

Lead By David Teulon. Duration: 2017-2020 (3 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Integrated biosecurity risk assessment models for imports (Tilletia, BMSB, QFF)

Lead By Lisa Jamieson. Duration: 2017-2020 (3 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Supporting pest risk assessments in natural ecosystems

Lead By Barbara Barratt (barbara.barratt@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Predicting the risks and impacts of Xylella fastidiosa using sentinel plant network

Lead By Ronny Groenteman (GroentemanR@landcareresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Theme C - Pathway Risk Management

Risk reduction & quarantine treatments off-shore

Lead By Allan Woolf. Duration: July 2017- June 2021 (4 yr) Theme C: Pathway risk management

Tourism, biosecurity and pathways into NZ

Lead By Mike McKay. Duration: July 2017 – June 2021 (4 yr) Theme C: Pathway risk management

Optimising biosecurity investment and effort across all invasion phases

Lead By Melissa Welsh. Duration: July 2017-June 2020 (3 yr) Theme C: Pathway risk management

Network modelling of biosecurity risk associated with arable seed imports

Lead By Chris Buddenhagen. Duration: July 2018 – June 2021 Theme C: Pathway risk management

Theme D - Diagnostics

Deployable point-of-use pathogen bioelectric sensor

Lead By Marion Wood (marion.wood@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project D21.15 ran for one year from June 2021 - June 2022 D: Diagnostics

Point of use plant pathogen bioelectric sensor (PSA, Xylella)

Lead By Marion Wood. Duration: July 2017 – June 2021 (3 yr – false start) Theme D: Diagnostics

Using molecular systematics to enhance diagnostics and predict biosecurity risk

Lead By Peter Johnston (Johnstonp@landcareresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project D17.2 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 Theme D: Diagnostics

eRNA as a molecular diagnostic tool targeting viable Phytophthora spp. and other oomycetes for biomonitoring in plant production nurseries

Lead By Rebecca McDougal. Duration: July 2017 – June 2021 (4 yrs) Theme D: Diagnostics

Alternative Strategies for determination of biosecurity risk using high throughput sequencing (enterobacteriaceae & Xylella)

Lead By Sandra Visnovsky (Sandra.Visnovsky@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project D17.25 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 Theme D: Diagnostics

Confidence in stable isotopes to verify a high risk pest incursion as foreign or NZ established

Lead By Karen Armstrong (karen.armstrong@lincoln.ac.nz). Duration: Project D19.8 ran for three years from July 2019 – June 2022 Theme D: Diagnostics

Diagnosis of irradiated insects and fruit

Lead By Ela Sawicka . Duration: July 2019 – June 2021 (2 yr) Theme D: Diagnostics

Theme E - Surveillance and Eradication

Improving the attractiveness of cuelure for better detection and eradication of invasive fruit flies

Lead By Ashraf El Sayed (ashraf.el-sayed@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E19.12 ran for three years from July 2019 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

eDNA detection of invasive insects

Lead By Simon Bulman (simon.bulman@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E19.11 ran for three years from July 2019 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Socially-acceptable eradication tools underpinned by modelling for eradication (BMSB, QFF, Codling moth, SWD)

Lead By Lloyd Stringer (lloyd.stringer@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E17.31 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Biosecurity excellence in port communities

Lead By John Kean (john.kean@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project E17.28 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Improved surveillance tools for key biosecurity targets (fruit flies, Gypsy moth)

Lead By Flore Mas (flore.mas@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E17.27 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response