Close
Sign up to receive B3 news alerts Sign up now
THEME B

Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Improved tools and methodologies for identifying hazards, assessing risk, predicting impacts and ascertaining where in the system mitigation measures are best targeted for unintentional introductions.

Theme Scope:

  • Systems approaches for risk assessment: assess risk at any point along the pathway to determine optimal mitigations and equivalence of treatments
  • Risk grouping: group organisms for more efficient risk analysis
  • Future risks: identify emerging risks to prioritise activities
  • Impact prediction: predict potential impacts of unwanted organisms to inform biosecurity interventions

 

Current Projects

Biosecurity over the horizon: identifying invasive agricultural pests in China

Lead By Colin Ferguson (colin.ferguson@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2025 (5 yr)

Xylella fastidiosa (Xf) and its New Zealand vectors

Lead By Jessica Dohmen-Vereijssen (jessica.vereijssen@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 5 years: July 2020 - June 2025

Assessing the risk of rapid ōhi’a death to New Zealand and the South Pacific

Lead By Virginia Marroni (virginia.marroni@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: June 2021 - June 2024 (3 years)

Pest risk evaluation framework – extended to arable, horticulture and forestry industries

Lead By Craig Phillips (craig.phillips@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: 2 years (June 2021 - June 2023)

Māori and Pasifika indigenous collaboration to identify pre-border biosecurity threats

Lead By Julia Soewarto (julia.soewarto@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: (June 2021 - June 2023) 2 years

Projects completed in 2022

Supporting pest risk assessments in natural ecosystems

Lead By Barbara Barratt (barbara.barratt@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr)

Predicting the risks and impacts of Xylella fastidiosa using sentinel plant network

Lead By Ronny Groenteman (GroentemanR@landcareresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr)

Global change and NZ biosecurity: risks and economics of future climates and trade patterns

Lead By Nicolas Meurisse (nicolas.meurisse@scionresearch.com). Duration: July 2020 - June 2022
John Kean Theme B Leader
John Kean
Phone: 07 838 5658