Close
Sign up to receive B3 news alerts Sign up now

Current Projects

Cross-theme projects

Prioritising social research for border biosecurity (New in 2023)

Lead By Andrea Grant (andrea.grant@scionresearch.com) Simon Wegner (simon.wegner@scionresearch.com). Duration: Project X23.3 runs from 2023 to 2024 (1 Year) Cross-theme project

Empowering Te Ao Māori responses to biosecurity threats to taonga species, native ecosystems, and communities

Lead By Waipaina.Awarau-Morris, Ngāti Porou iwi (Waipaina.Awarau-Morris@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project X22.23 runs from 2022 - 2025 (3 years) Cross-theme project

Theme A - Risk Assessment (Intentional Introductions)

He Waka Hourua: Matāuranga and Western science navigate a safe course for future biocontrol

Lead By Waipaina Awarau-Morris, Ngāti Porou iwi (waipaina.awarau-morris@agresearch.co.nz) David Teulon (david.teulon@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project A22.3 runs from 2022 - 2025 (3 years) A: Risk Assessment: Intentional Introductions

Testing the toolbox – reducing uncertainty around non-target impacts

Lead By Jacqui Todd (Jacqui.Todd@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project A22.1: 2022 - 2025 (3 years) A: Risk Assessment: Intentional Introductions

Theme B - Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Risks from pathogens, pests and weeds in a changing climate (New in 2023)

Lead By Craig Phillips (craig.phillips@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: June 2023 to June 2026 B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Further development of the Integrated Biosecurity Risk Assessment Model (IBRAM) for pathogens

Lead By Nari Williams (Nari.Williams@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project B22.7 runs from 2022 - 2026 (4 years) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Predicting the spillover of pests and pathogens into natural ecosystems

Lead By Darren Ward (wardda@landcareresearch.co.nz) . Duration: Project B22.6 runs from 2022 - 2027 (5 years) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Assessing the risk of rapid ōhi’a death to New Zealand and the South Pacific

Lead By Virginia Marroni (virginia.marroni@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project B21.2 runs from 2021 - 2024 (3 Years) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Xylella fastidiosa (Xf) and its New Zealand vectors

Lead By Jessica Dohmen-Vereijssen (jessica.vereijssen@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project B20.3 runs from 2020 - 2025 (5 Years) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Biosecurity over the horizon: identifying invasive agricultural pests in China

Lead By Colin Ferguson (colin.ferguson@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project B19.3 runs from 2019 – 2025 (5 Years) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Theme C - Pathway Risk Management

De-risking the tissue culture import pathway (New in 2023)

Lead By Hayley Ridgway (Hayley.Ridgway@plantandfood.co.nz) Simon Bulman (Simon.Bulman@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project C23.2 runs from 2023 to 2026 (3 Years) C: Pathway Risk Management

The risk of diapausing pest insects on pathways to NZ

Lead By Jessica Vereijssen (Jessica.Vereijssen@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project C22.13 runs from 2022 - 2026 (4 Years) C: Pathway Risk Management

Accelerated ageing of plants to shorten the post-entry quarantine testing period

Lead By Rebekah Frampton (rebekah.frampton@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project C22.12 runs from 2022 - 2027 (5 Years) C: Pathway Risk Management

Rapid screening model for optimising commodity treatments

Lead By Jessica Vereijssen (jessica.vereijssen.@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project C22.9 runs from 2022 - 2027 (5 Years) C: Pathway Risk Management

Automatic detection of contaminants on shipping container exteriors

Lead By Mark McNeill (mark.mcneill@agresearch.co.nz) . Duration: Project C21.7 runs from 2021 - 2024 (3 Years) C: Pathway Risk Management

Unappreciated border biosecurity risks related to herbicide-resistant biotypes in imported seeds

Lead By Chris Buddenhagen (chris.buddenhagen@agresearch.co.nz) . Duration: Project C21.10 runs from 2021 - 2024 (3 yrs) C: Pathway Risk Management

Novel sensor approaches to sniff out biosecurity threats (BMSB, QFF)

Lead By Melissa Jordan (melissa.jordan@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project C17.13 ran from 2017 – 2022 (5 Years), then was extended from 2022 - 2024 (2 Years). Theme C: Pathway risk management

Theme D - Diagnostics

Beyond soil baiting: toward application of an eRNA diagnostic tool for Phytophthora

Lead By Rebecca McDougal (rebecca.mcdougal@scionresearch.com) . Duration: Project D22.17 runs from 2022 - 2025 (3 Years) D: Diagnostics

Metatranscriptomics informing the relevance of pathogen disease biomarkers in plants

Lead By Sandra Visnovsky (Sandra.Visnovsky@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project D22.16 runs from 2022 - 2027 (5 Years) D: Diagnostics

Using images and deep learning for the identification of high-risk insect species

Lead By Darren Ward (wardda@landcareresearch.co.nz) . Duration: Project D22.15 runs from 2022 - 2027 (5 Years) D: Diagnostics

The potential of mass spectral fingerprinting for solving tricky biosecurity issues

Lead By Alastair Ross (alastair.ross@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project D21.14 ran from 2021 - 2022 (1 Year) then was extended 2022 - 2026 (4 years) D: Diagnostics

Integrated or not? Is this badnavirus viable and what is the risk?

Lead By Rebekah Frampton (rebekah.frampton@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project D21.3 runs from 2021 - 2024 (3 Years) D: Diagnostics

Theme E - Surveillance and Eradication

eDNA for terrestrial biosecurity monitoring

Lead By Andrew Cridge (Andrew.Cridge@scionresearch.com) and Simon Bulman (Simon.Bulman@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E22.19 runs from 2022 - 2027 (5 Years) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Expanding our eradication toolbox in NZ: Is biocontrol a feasible tool to incorporate in a response?

Lead By Rachael Horner (Rachael.Horner@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E22.18 runs from 2022 - 2024 (2 Years) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Remote sensing to support surveillance, response and eradication

Lead By Federico Tomasetto (federico.tomasetto@agresearch.co.nz) . Duration: Project E21.18 runs from 2021 - June 2024 (3 Years) E: Surveillance, response and eradication

Improving UAV effectiveness for spot application of Btk during incursion responses

Lead By Justin Nairn (justin.nairn@scion.nz). Duration: Project E21.17 ran for two years from June 2021 - June 2023, then one-year extension to June 2024. E: Surveillance, response and eradication