Close
Sign up to receive B3 news alerts Sign up now

Current Projects

Cross-theme projects

Empowering Te Ao Māori responses to biosecurity threats to taonga species, native ecosystems, and communities (New in 2022)

Lead By Waipaina.Awarau-Morris (Waipaina.Awarau-Morris@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2025 (3 years) Cross-theme project

Weaving together the complex web of biosecurity social networks

Lead By Philip Hulme (philip.hulme@lincoln.ac.nz). Duration: 2 years (June 2021 - June 2023) Cross-theme project

Theme A - Risk Assessment (Intentional Introductions)

He waka hourua: Matāuranga and Western science navigate a safe course for future biocontrol (New in 2022)

Lead By Waipaina Awarau-Morris (waipaina.awarau-morris@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2025 (3 years) A: Risk Assessment: Intentional Introductions

Testing the toolbox – reducing uncertainty around non-target impacts (New in 2022)

Lead By Jacqui Todd (Jacqui.Todd@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project A22.1: 2022 - 2025 (3 years) A: Risk Assessment: Intentional Introductions

Theme B - Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Further development of the Integrated Biosecurity Risk Assessment Model (IBRAM) for pathogens (New in 2022)

Lead By Nari Williams (Nari.Williams@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2026 (4 years) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Predicting the spillover of pests and pathogens into natural ecosystems (New in 2022)

Lead By Darren Ward (wardda@landcareresearch.co.nz) . Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

New risk assessment and detection tools for cereal and grass pathogens on the seed import pathway (New in 2022)

Lead By Soonie Chng (Soonie.Chng@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2023 (1 year) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Māori and Pasifika indigenous collaboration to identify pre-border biosecurity threats

Lead By Julia Soewarto (julia.soewarto@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: (June 2021 - June 2023) 2 years B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Pest risk evaluation framework – extended to arable, horticulture and forestry industries

Lead By Craig Phillips (craig.phillips@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: 2 years (June 2021 - June 2023) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Assessing the risk of rapid ōhi’a death to New Zealand and the South Pacific

Lead By Virginia Marroni (virginia.marroni@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: June 2021 - June 2024 (3 years) B: Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Xylella fastidiosa (Xf) and its New Zealand vectors

Lead By Jessica Dohmen-Vereijssen (jessica.vereijssen@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 5 years: July 2020 - June 2025 Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Biosecurity over the horizon: identifying invasive agricultural pests in China

Lead By Colin Ferguson (colin.ferguson@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2025 (5 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Theme C - Pathway Risk Management

The risk of diapausing pest insects on pathways to NZ (New in 2022)

Lead By Jessica Vereijssen (Jessica.Vereijssen@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2026 (4 years) C: Pathway Risk Management

Accelerated aging of plants to shorten the post-entry quarantine testing period (New in 2022)

Lead By Rebekah Frampton (Rebekah.Frampton@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years) C: Pathway Risk Management

De-risking the plant tissue culture pathway (New in 2022)

Lead By Hayley Ridgeway (Hayley.Ridgway@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2023 (1 year) C: Pathway Risk Management

Rapid screening model for optimising commodity treatments (New in 2022)

Lead By Kambiz Esfandi (Kambiz.Esfandi@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years) C: Pathway Risk Management

Automatic detection of contaminants on shipping container exteriors

Lead By Munir Shah (munir.shar@agresearch.co.nz) and Taylor Welsh (Taylor.walsh@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 3 years (June 2021 - June 2024) C: Pathway Risk Management

Unappreciated border biosecurity risks related to herbicide-resistant biotypes in imported seeds

Lead By Chris Buddenhagen (chris.buddenhagen@agresearch.co.nz) . Duration: 3 years (June 2021 - June 2024) C: Pathway Risk Management

Novel sensor approaches to sniff out biosecurity threats (BMSB, QFF)

Lead By Melissa Jordan. Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yr), then extended from 2022 - 2024. Theme C: Pathway risk management

Theme D - Diagnostics

Beyond soil baiting: toward application of an eRNA diagnostic tool for Phytophthora (New in 2022)

Lead By Rebecca McDougal (Rebecca.McDougal@scionresearch.com). Duration: 2022 - 2025 (3 years) D: Diagnostics

Metatranscriptomics informing the relevance of pathogen disease biomarkers in plants (New in 2022)

Lead By Sandra Visnovsky (Sandra.Visnovsky@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years) D: Diagnostics

Using images and deep learning for the identification of high-risk insect species (New in 2022)

Lead By Darren Ward (wardda@landcareresearch.co.nz) . Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years) D: Diagnostics

The potential of mass spectral fingerprinting for solving tricky biosecurity issues

Lead By Alistair Ross (alistair.ross@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: 1 year (June 2021 - June 2022), then extended from 2022 - 2026 D: Diagnostics

Integrated or not? Is this badnavirus viable and what is the risk?

Lead By Rebekah Frampton (rebekah.frampton@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 3 years (June 2021 - June 2024) D: Diagnostics

Theme E - Surveillance and Eradication

eDNA for terrestrial biosecurity monitoring (New in 2022)

Lead By Andrew Cridge (Andrew.Cridge@scionresearch.com). Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Expanding our eradication toolbox in NZ: Is biocontrol a feasible tool to incorporate in a response? (New in 2022)

Lead By Rachael Horner (Rachael.Horner@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Remote sensing to support surveillance, response and eradication

Lead By Federico Tomasetto (federico.tomasetto@agresearch.co.nz) . Duration: 3 years (June 2021 - June 2024) E: Surveillance, response and eradication

Improving UAV effectiveness for spot application of Btk during incursion responses

Lead By Justin Nairn (justin.nairn@scion.nz). Duration: 2 years (June 2021 - June 2023) D: Surveillance, response and eradication

Rapid response to biosecurity threats in nurseries

Lead By Emily McLay (emily.mclay@scionresearch.com) . Duration: Project E20.5 runs from July 2020 - June 2023 (3 yrs) E - Surveillance, Response & Eradication

New aerodynamic design principles for effective insect traps

Lead By Rachael Horner (racheal.horner@plantandfood. co.nz) . Duration: July 2020 - June 2023 (3 yrs) E - Surveillance, Response & Eradication