Close
Sign up to receive B3 news alerts Sign up now

Current Projects

Theme A - Risk Assessment (Intentional Introductions)

Improving risk prediction & reducing uncertainty pre-release for classical biocontrol agents

Lead By Gonzalo Avila (gonzalo.avila@plantandfoodresearch.co.nz). Duration: 2017-2022 (5 yrs) Theme A: Risk assessment – Intentional Introductions

Understanding the direct and indirect environmental impacts of biocontrol agent introductions to inform future decisions

Lead By Barbara Barratt (barbara.barratt@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: 2017-2022 (5 yrs) Theme A: Risk assessment – Intentional Introductions

Theme B - Risk Assessment (Unintentional Introductions)

Global change and NZ biosecurity: risks and economics of future climates and trade patterns

Lead By Nicolas Meurisse (nicolas.meurisse@scionresearch.com). Duration: July 2020 - June 2025 Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Xylella fastidiosa (Xf) and its New Zealand vectors

Lead By Jessica Dohmen-Vereijssen (jessica.vereijssen@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 5 years: July 2020 - June 2025 Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Supporting pest risk assessments in natural ecosystems

Lead By Barbara Barratt (barbara.barratt@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Predicting the risks and impacts of Xylella fastidiosa using sentinel plant network

Lead By Ronny Groenteman (GroentemanR@landcareresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Biosecurity over the horizon: identifying invasive agricultural pests in China

Lead By Colin Ferguson (colin.ferguson@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2025 (5 yr) Theme B: Risk assessment – Unintentional Introductions

Theme C - Pathway Risk Management

Novel sensor approaches to sniff out biosecurity threats (BMSB, QFF)

Lead By Melissa Jordan. Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yr) Theme C: Pathway risk management

Theme D - Diagnostics

Point of use plant pathogen bioelectric sensor (PSA, Xylella)

Lead By Marion Wood. Duration: July 2017 – June 2021 (3 yr – false start) Theme D: Diagnostics

Using molecular systematics to enhance diagnostics and predict biosecurity risk

Lead By Peter Johnston. Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yrs) Theme D: Diagnostics

Alternative Strategies for determination of biosecurity risk using high throughput sequencing (enterobacteriaceae & Xylella)

Lead By Sandra Visnovsky. Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yrs) Theme D: Diagnostics

Confidence in stable isotopes to verify a high risk pest incursion as foreign or NZ established

Lead By Karen Armstrong (karen.armstrong@lincoln.ac.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr) Theme D: Diagnostics

Theme E - Surveillance and Eradication

Rapid response to biosecurity threats in nurseries

Lead By Rebecca McDougal (rebecca.mcdougal@scionresearch.com). Duration: July 2020 - June 2023 (3 yrs) E - Surveillance, Response & Eradication

New aerodynamic design principles for effective insect traps

Lead By Rachael Horner (racheal.horner@plantandfood. co.nz) . Duration: July 2020 - June 2023 (3 yrs) E - Surveillance, Response & Eradication

Improving the attractiveness of cuelure for better detection and eradication of invasive fruit flies

Lead By Ashraf El Sayed (ashraf.el-sayed@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

eDNA detection of invasive insects

Lead By Simon Bulman (simon.bulman@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Socially-acceptable eradication tools underpinned by modelling for eradication (BMSB, QFF, Codling moth, SWD)

Lead By Lloyd Stringer (lloyd.stringer@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yr) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Biosecurity excellence in port communities

Lead By John Kean (john.kean@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yrs) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Improved surveillance tools for key biosecurity targets (fruit flies, Gypsy moth)

Lead By Flore Mas (flore.mas@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yrs) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response