Close
Sign up to receive B3 news alerts Sign up now
THEME E

Surveillance and Eradication

Tools and strategies for preparedness for and response to incursions of invasive plant pest species, including determining their presence or absence

Theme Scope:

  • New surveillance methods: increased ability to detect species earlier by development of timely, cost-effective surveillance methods and improvements of surveillance sensitivity
  • Defining surveillance efficacy: increased understanding of and confidence in the effectiveness of surveillance programmes to enable better targeting and use of resources
  • New eradication tools: develop tools that maximise the likelihood of eradication, minimise adverse environmental and cultural impacts, and lie within public thresholds of acceptance for new technologies
  • New response decision tools: develop tools and strategies to enable rapid and robust decision making during a biosecurity response.

 

Current Projects

Rapid response to biosecurity threats in nurseries

Lead By Emily McLay (emily.mclay@scionresearch.com) . Duration: Project E20.5 runs from July 2020 - June 2023 (3 yrs)

New aerodynamic design principles for effective insect traps

Lead By Rachael Horner (racheal.horner@plantandfood. co.nz) . Duration: July 2020 - June 2023 (3 yrs)

Remote sensing to support surveillance, response and eradication

Lead By Federico Tomasetto (federico.tomasetto@agresearch.co.nz) . Duration: 3 years (June 2021 - June 2024)

Improving UAV effectiveness for spot application of Btk during incursion responses

Lead By Justin Nairn (justin.nairn@scion.nz). Duration: 2 years (June 2021 - June 2023)

Expanding our eradication toolbox in NZ: Is biocontrol a feasible tool to incorporate in a response? (New in 2022)

Lead By Rachael Horner (Rachael.Horner@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years)

eDNA for terrestrial biosecurity monitoring (New in 2022)

Lead By Andrew Cridge (Andrew.Cridge@scionresearch.com). Duration: 2022 - 2027 (5 years)

Projects completed in 2022

Improved surveillance tools for key biosecurity targets (fruit flies, Gypsy moth)

Lead By Flore Mas (flore.mas@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yrs)

Biosecurity excellence in port communities

Lead By John Kean (john.kean@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yrs)

eDNA detection of invasive insects

Lead By Simon Bulman (simon.bulman@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr)

Improving the attractiveness of cuelure for better detection and eradication of invasive fruit flies

Lead By Ashraf El Sayed (ashraf.el-sayed@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2019 – June 2022 (3 yr)

Socially-acceptable eradication tools underpinned by modelling for eradication (BMSB, QFF, Codling moth, SWD)

Lead By Lloyd Stringer (lloyd.stringer@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: July 2017 – June 2022 (5 yr)
Jessica Vereijssen Theme E Leader
Jessica Vereijssen
Phone: 03 3259566