Close
Sign up to receive B3 news alerts Sign up now

Theme E - Surveillance and Eradication Projects

eDNA for terrestrial biosecurity monitoring

Lead By Andrew Cridge (Andrew.Cridge@scionresearch.com) and Simon Bulman (Simon.Bulman@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E22.19 runs from 2022 - 2027 (5 Years) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Expanding our eradication toolbox in NZ: Is biocontrol a feasible tool to incorporate in a response?

Lead By Rachael Horner (Rachael.Horner@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E22.18 runs from 2022 - 2024 (2 Years) E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Improving UAV effectiveness for spot application of Btk during incursion responses

Lead By Justin Nairn (justin.nairn@scion.nz). Duration: Project E21.17 ran for two years from June 2021 - June 2023, then one-year extension to June 2024. E: Surveillance, response and eradication

Remote sensing to support surveillance, response and eradication

Lead By Federico Tomasetto (federico.tomasetto@agresearch.co.nz) . Duration: Project E21.18 runs from 2021 - June 2024 (3 Years) E: Surveillance, response and eradication

New aerodynamic design principles for effective insect traps

Lead By Rachael Horner (rachael.horner@plantandfood.co.nz) . Duration: Project E20.8 runs for three years from July 2020 - June 2023 E - Surveillance, Response & Eradication

Rapid response to biosecurity threats in nurseries

Lead By Emily McLay (emily.mclay@scionresearch.com) . Duration: Project E20.5 runs from July 2020 - June 2023 (3 yrs) E - Surveillance, Response & Eradication

Improving the attractiveness of cuelure for better detection and eradication of invasive fruit flies

Lead By Ashraf El Sayed (ashraf.el-sayed@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E19.12 ran for three years from July 2019 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

eDNA detection of invasive insects

Lead By Simon Bulman (simon.bulman@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E19.11 ran for three years from July 2019 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Socially-acceptable eradication tools underpinned by modelling for eradication (BMSB, QFF, Codling moth, SWD)

Lead By Lloyd Stringer (lloyd.stringer@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E17.31 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Biosecurity excellence in port communities

Lead By John Kean (john.kean@agresearch.co.nz). Duration: Project E17.28 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response

Improved surveillance tools for key biosecurity targets (fruit flies, Gypsy moth)

Lead By Flore Mas (flore.mas@plantandfood.co.nz). Duration: Project E17.27 ran for five years from July 2017 – June 2022 E: Eradication, Surveillance and Response